/searching A-Z index Help
University of Cambridge Home [Dept of Engineering]
University of Cambridge > Department of Engineering > Dr Ioannis Lestas

Dr Ioannis Lestas

University Lecturer

Fellow of Clare College

Telephone:+44 1223 748378
Office Location:Control group, Department of Engineering

Show Selected Publications

Ioannis Lestas is a University Lecturer at the University of Cambridge, Department of Engineering and Fellow of Clare College. He graduated with a BA (Starred First) and an MEng (Distinction) in Electrical Engineering and Information Sciences from the University of Cambridge (ranked in the top 1-2%). Prior to that he was chosen to participate in International Physics, Maths, Chemistry Olympiads (2 Bronze medals in International Chemistry Olympiads and first prizes in several national mathematics and physics competitions). He has a PhD from Cambridge in Control Theory, which he completed as a Gates Scholar and Trinity College Research Scholar. He was elected to a Junior Research Fellow of Clare College, Cambridge (one stipendiary position in sciences and one in humanities awarded with more than 500 applicants per year) and was awarded a five year Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellowship (985 742 USD award). He is also the recipient of a five year ERC starting grant (1.5 million EUR award). His work has been published in the leading international journals in control theory, the leading international journals in power systems, and high impact factor journals like Nature.

Research Overview
- Control of networks, decentralized control, analysis and design of large scale systems.
- Power systems, smart grids, voltage/frequency control, stability and optmisation in microgrids, optimal dispatch of storage/distributed generation.
- Gene regulatory networks, noise in biochemical reaction networks.
- Theory: Network analysis and control, Lyapunov methods, Robust/Optimal Control, Time-delayed systems, Monotone Systems, Jump Markov processes, fundamental limits in feedback performance, convex optimization, graph theory.

Research Group
Research associates:
- Khaled Laib
- Andreas Kasis
- Mohammed Benmiloud

PhD students:
- Jeremy Watson (Cambridge International Scholarship)
- Yemi Ojo (Yousef Jammel Scholarship)
- Rizhong (Augustine) Kang (Trinity Henry Barlow scholarship, Cambridge Overseas Trust)
- Giovanni Pugliese Carratelli (EPSRC DTA award)

MEng students:
- Billy Zhao (CAPE Acorn award)
- Ben Ferris